2017 Templates. And how people who take and sell them suck.

Hi everyone.

I know I have been getting a lot of questions lately on the 2017 version of the Pretty Pretty Planner, and whether this blog is dead or not.

It’s not dead – I’m still here. I know I haven’t been posting anything really, and sorry about that. 2016, like with everything else it seems, has been a tough year. But I was actually moving along getting the 2017 planners ready for release. I so love that you guys love them, and believe me, I read all the comments even if I can’t keep up and respond.

The problem is, I found out someone is reselling my planners that I make free for personal use (thanks to a kind FYI in the comments), and it’s bummed me out. Like BIG time. So now I’m pondering what to do to add some kind of copyright notice to my templates, or even take it all the way to Etsy and start charging for downloads. And honestly just haven’t had time to make these big decisions yet.

I’m really frustrated and disappointed, and trying to figure out how to move forward or whether to scrap them all completely.

So yes. There will probably be 2017 planner versions, I have half of them done already. Okay, no I don’t want to scrap everything, not really. But I need to figure out what to do next first before I can post them.

35 thoughts on “2017 Templates. And how people who take and sell them suck.

  1. Oriole November 14, 2016 at 4:23 pm Reply

    I really appreciated your 2016 Pretty Planner. I did change a few things to suit my needs, I made an extra to-do page and using your color scheme and made a Bill Paid page. Although, I love getting this for free, I would gladly buy it from Etsy.
    I make all my own stickers to fit the large square pages on the Jr. Planner.
    The only question I have is how would that stop the people who would buy and sell it? I am asking because I also sell a paper product, and haven’t found anyway of stopping someone who really wants to sell it. I add a copyright symbol to my pages,
    I understand that if you published it first and someone does copy they must change it enough that someone else doesn’t think it is your work. The old rule was by 30%, but then a famous clothing designer got caught stealing the work of a small Canadian designer and lost the case, was fined and then the rules changed. So that side by side a jury wouldn’t think the work was the same or by the same artist.

  2. Melissa November 14, 2016 at 5:11 pm Reply

    I am so sorry that this has happened. I love your planner and would be willing to pay for it as it is so wonderful!

  3. Kissie November 14, 2016 at 6:42 pm Reply

    I am SO sorry that someone would go so far as to sell something that does not belong to them! People these days have absolutely no morals or standards! Even if you decided to move forward and sell yours, I would probably still buy it! I’ve used it for the last two years and really love it. Can’t wait to see what you decide!

  4. Michelle November 14, 2016 at 8:20 pm Reply

    I’m sorry as well. I just found your printables today and love the weekly verticle agenda pages with the times. It was just what I was looking for and their being pretty was icing on the cake. 😀 I was afraid I’d get spoiled with them this month and then be searching for something else in another month. I hope you continue to provide the pretties. I also plan to read your previous posts about the fountain pens. Love them! I use the Pilot Metropolitan, mostly because I can’t justify more expensive pens at time, but I love it. I have one for home and one for work. So sad for all my other non-fountain pens that are lonely and collecting dust… Thanks for the great printable!

  5. Anonymous November 14, 2016 at 9:37 pm Reply

    I’m really sorry to hear that your efforts have been hijacked by someone else. I hope you go ahead with the planner. I have been using them for a couple of years and love them. I would be happy to buy if that is the direction you head. All the very best in your endeavours.

  6. Elisa Olimpio November 14, 2016 at 9:41 pm Reply

    I understand you totally. I personally saw one of your planner being sold and I got furious because I know how consuming it is.

  7. Timi November 14, 2016 at 11:05 pm Reply

    Kissie is right! Otherwise I wait the 2017 version so much. I’ve found You and your planners only a few months ago and I wanted to try it in next year. I have a friend who would like to make a very-personal planner for 2017 for her doughter – and I would like to help her and send her your link. I wait for the news. And thanks for your work.

  8. Jennifer DiGiovanni November 14, 2016 at 11:10 pm Reply

    I stumbled upon this later in 2016,but they have been very useful for me. I hope that you can find peace in your reoubles heart and thw the spirit moves you into making the best decision for yourself- DeColores

  9. Katie November 18, 2016 at 4:26 am Reply

    I am so bummed that this is happening to you! I love the set up of your planner pages and would hate to see you not continue with a 2017 version. Please keep us posted on what you decide to do.

  10. Milah November 19, 2016 at 4:08 am Reply

    Keep us posted on your choice! I actually love love LOVE your planners. I downloaded them for 2016 and it definitely kept me organized, being in my senior year of college plus picking up an internship. If you do move forward and decide to sell, I’ll also buy because I’m absolutely obsessed with the format and after looking through (literally) hundreds of planners there is nothing like this. Looking forward to your decision. Sorry people suck 😦

  11. bijverdienenmetzelfzorg November 20, 2016 at 9:17 pm Reply

    Hi, the best thing you can do it to put a personal signature in a corner of a template. Then the person can not sell it anymore because it is free on your site.

  12. bijverdienenmetzelfzorg November 20, 2016 at 9:44 pm Reply

    Hi, Another thing you shouldn’t do is giving away editable templates of 2017.

  13. Treysa Bowlin November 20, 2016 at 11:14 pm Reply

    These are my favorite inserts by far! It is horrible that someone would take your work and profit from it.

  14. Schiara November 22, 2016 at 1:41 am Reply

    UGH!! I HATE that someone would take advantage of your generosity. I have made this planner as a gift for one of my employees for the last 2 years. She has been giving me some HARD hints that she needs a new calendar! LOL. I can’t wait to see the next calendar, they are always so beautiful

  15. Kimberly B Stone November 22, 2016 at 10:53 pm Reply

    This isn’t right. At all. If you have a link to where/how they are selling these, I’d either (1) write to Etsy or Shopify or whoever is hosting the shop and tell them what happened (2) write to this person and tell them you know, and you demand that they stop, or face legal action or (3) both.

    Your possibility of actually bringing an action against them – dubious, since it wasn’t copyrighted material. It’s a bluff. But do they know that? Probably not. Most people don’t like the words ‘legal action’ and there’s a chance she will have a guilty conscience.

    Also, tell us who this is so we don’t actually buy them from the bitch.

    In the future, you can (1) copyright items as you’ve said. BUT, if someone takes a printable to Kinko’s, they might not print it for them. And/or (2) Have your readers request a link. Send them the link after they have signed a disclaimer stating that they are only using the printable for personal purposes, not selling.

    Two more alternatives: Use Creative Commons license – which I really don’t know much about, but you could research what rights it gives you. Finally – sell them on Etsy.

    Sorry. I’m a lawyer. They do something to our brains in law school.

    Drop me a note when you have 2017 ready to go. Until then, many blessings.

  16. KawaiiLovah November 24, 2016 at 9:37 pm Reply

    Oh my god!! That bastard! lol.. I am so sorry for you too! >.,< Gosh! So irritating.. Anyway.. Now I can't wait to see your upcoming inserts! (^_^)/

  17. Dea November 26, 2016 at 4:47 am Reply

    I’ve used and loved your planner for about 1.3 years, and can’t believe the nerve of someone selling your work as your own! I would definitely pay you for your work (I went ahead and made my own 2017 calendar from your word file, but I so appreciate how much work you’ve done on these!)

  18. Lori November 27, 2016 at 4:42 am Reply

    I also was awaiting the arrive of your 2017 version. I love the colors and it makes me happy looking at my planner. Thank you.
    Please remember that you are helping so many other educators and that you are appreciated for sharing.

  19. Candi November 28, 2016 at 4:20 pm Reply

    Oh no, I’m also terribly sorry… I spent the whole morning searching for a new printable planner for 2017 like yours from last year (which I couldn’t remember where I found it) then happened across a pin and was so excited that I found you. I’m heartbroken you are having drama like this. PLEASE let me know if you decide to sell, heck I’d even happily paypal you directly to purchase them if etsy is too much additional effort. I love everything about them and darnit this is the year I’m finally going to get organized and USE my planner LOL Your hard work is greatly appreciated and should be compensated!

  20. Gaby Bautista November 30, 2016 at 1:22 am Reply

    Gossshh! What a dutch bag people and I’m sorry there are person’s with that low moral to do that to you.
    please keep us with news about what you decided, I live in Mexico and there is anything like this planners here (just the kind of appointments ones) I feel so organized with yours…I looove your work, hope there will be a 2017 edition.
    🙂

  21. alexismroark November 30, 2016 at 6:51 am Reply

    I just found you, and you are right-those people do suck! Whatever you decide, you’ve been so incredibly generous to date; so, I wouldn’t feel bad. Thank you!!

  22. Amy November 30, 2016 at 6:04 pm Reply

    I just found this site today and LOVE it. I really hope you continue on. I’m sorry that someone did this to you 😦

  23. Jody Gargiulo December 1, 2016 at 3:08 pm Reply

    Not surprising someone is selling your work. Its Dec now and I’ve been using your planners for two years. I need to get 2017 set up, so am looking forward to a post that says, yes they are ready. And again, I don’t think any of us would mind paying you.

  24. Janet Huisinga December 4, 2016 at 10:54 pm Reply

    I also am sooo sorry someone was selling your planner. I am so grateful to you for having the planner available for me. Thank you so much! it is so nice to work with!! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!!!!!!

  25. DebbieAnn December 5, 2016 at 11:30 pm Reply

    I have been using your planner for about seven or eight months now and I absolutely love it. I am so sorry that somebody would take your planner and sell it, what a shame! I just want to let you know how much I appreciate your planner and how perfect it is for what I need it for. Thank you so very much for all your efforts!

  26. Loyda December 6, 2016 at 12:58 am Reply

    I’m so glad to hear that 2017 is in the works. But feel sad that those people ruin the experience for you. Either way I love these planner pages ever since I’ve stumbled upon them. I got my planner ideas from this site. because of you I discovered Levenger rings. Which I so adore. I have been stalking your page for months now waiting for the new release. Just know I support your decision what ever that is. Thank you.

  27. Corrie December 6, 2016 at 7:34 pm Reply

    Have you decided what to do yet? Its so hard to find free dated weekly planners and I love yours! I would definitely, at the least, put a copyright on it. Did you confront the person selling them? Even report them to etsy?

  28. Paula Williams December 8, 2016 at 1:55 am Reply

    Please, please, please have a 2017 version. I have been using your planner for the past two years and its killing me not having next years set up already but I’ll wait to see what you are doing before I go looking for another one.

  29. Azaneth Marentes Baca December 9, 2016 at 12:52 am Reply

    So sorry to read this… I have 2015 and 2016 and it worked great for me. I really hope that you decide to post 2017. Best wishes!

  30. micalela1 December 11, 2016 at 4:53 am Reply

    Is there a way to report the person who is selling your work. How horrible. Free or not I love your printable planners. And I hope to use them again in 2017.

  31. Lynette December 14, 2016 at 2:01 pm Reply

    Anticipation is what I want to say. We love your work and hope that 2017 will be out soon. Happy Holidays to you and yours.

  32. Ronda Jedrzejek December 16, 2016 at 1:57 am Reply

    I love your planner, it sucks someone would do that! Fingers crossed here that you post 2017 soon:-)

  33. dburtch18 December 18, 2016 at 9:48 pm Reply

    This is the world we live in now. People have no ethics or conscience. Do what you have to do. Your planner is great and although I have appreciated that you have shared them for free, I have always thought you should charge something for all the hard work you have put into them.

  34. HueyGirl September 11, 2017 at 12:25 am Reply

    I enjoy your planners very much. I have used them for a couple years, and am angry for you that some jerkwad did this to you! I only hope that this has been cleared up by now (I know, I’m 9 months late to the party), and that you’ll be doing a 2018 calendar for us. I too, would pay for a version if it comes to that.

  35. […] here’s the deal. Just like last year, I have found another person selling my templates (with minor font changes)  – on Etsy this […]

Leave a Reply

