Midori Notebook Refill Review – #012 Sketchbook Paper

When I received my new fauxdori from Jot, I immediately ordered four Midori Traveler’s Notebook refills from Amazon to fully test it out. My series of reviews consists of:

The last refill I’m reviewing in the #012 drawing or sketchbook paper refill, available from Goulet Pens and JetPens. I’d heard rumors it behaved reasonably well with watercolors too, so I decided to give it a go.

wpid-img_20150911_101413.jpg

First impressions, it’s thick, heavy paper. Neither Goulet nor JetPens lists the paper weight. From JetPens, “The pages are a smooth, heavyweight drawing paper, perfect for sketching, drawing, and watercolors.”

The stapled notebook itself is noticeably fatter but only contains 24 sheets (48 pages). In this pic from top to bottom: #019 Weekly Planner, #002 Grid Paper, #013 Lightweight Paper, and #012 Drawing Paper.

wpid-img_20150911_101548.jpg

The paper has a heavy cardstock feel, with a slight tooth – definitely not as silky smooth as my beloved Stillman and Birn Zeta Series sketchbooks, but not as textured as Moleskine Watercolor Sketchbooks. I tested with pencil first, using my favored clutch lead holder with 3.2mm 6B lead from Kaweco. The soft lead blends really well with just a finger, and just feels good with the pencil.

wpid-img_20150911_202524.jpg

Next up, how do fountain pens write on this paper! Tests using my usual currently inked pens. Immediate first impressions – no pretty red sheen OR glitter effects with Emerald of Chivor. It just looks dark green, which BOOO. And you can see some slight feathering in close-up too depending on the ink.

wpid-img_20150911_191616.jpg

Continued close-ups.

wpid-img_20150911_191527.jpg

Full page, with waterbrush tests at the bottom of the page.

wpid-img_20150911_191707.jpg

Close-up of waterbrush and FP ink tests.

wpid-img_20150911_191746.jpg

Did I mention all the pages in this notebook are PERFORATED!? How cool is that? The paper handled the waterbrush well enough – it didn’t start to disintegrate or pill like I’ve had other papers do, but it also wasn’t perfect either – it made the page get all ripply.

wpid-img_20150911_191935.jpg

The waterbrush also caused some bleedthrough – and you can really see the ripples it caused in this pic.

wpid-img_20150911_192033.jpg

Next up, testing some Peerless Watercolors.

wpid-img_20150911_192200.jpg

Close up on the paint tests I did on the same backside of the fountain pen samples page.

wpid-img_20150911_192322.jpg

The paints don’t bleed through or show anything on the other side of the page, but they did make it all rippled, as described earlier.

wpid-img_20150911_192533.jpg

Conclusions. I like it a lot, I think with markers and light washes it will probably be fantastic. It definitely loves pencil sketches too. More comprehensive watercolor sketches might benefit from a heavier weight paper – this feels almost like a 180gsm paper or so, definitely not as heavy as the 270 gsm Stillman and Birn Zeta. But overall I like it – I’m sure I can find a use for it in the future.

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “Midori Notebook Refill Review – #012 Sketchbook Paper

  1. […] #012 Sketchbook Paper […]

Leave a Reply

