It’s here! The new 2015 Lamy Safari Neon Lime

I got it, I got it!!

I’ve been on the fence about whether to get this 2015 LE Neon Lime fountain pen or not, given how it’s a nearly identical color to 2013’s Neon Yellow. Ultimately I decided to buy it, partly because I was curious, partly because any new pen is a good pen (WOOOOOOOOO!), and partly because I’ve learned over my 7 years of collecting these Lamy Safaris that even if I don’t want it now, I might regret not getting it in the future.

It’s a sign of how unexcited I was for this color that I didn’t even order from a UK company first (the pen is available in Europe a few months before it arrives in the US). Away to the lovely Goulet Pens I went, and ordered a F nib. That’s my default nib because it is pretty much perfect, and I have all the other nib sizes should I want to switch.

image

While Lamy also released a LE Neon Lime ink as well, preliminary reviews show it to be so light and hideously bright that it’s illegible, and is really suited more as a highlighter ink. So, pass! Instead, I took the opportunity to order some green samples I’ve had my eye on: J. Herbin Vert Olive and R&K Alt-Goldgrun (I also wanted more J. Herbin Larmes de Cassis to try before ordering a full bottle, it’s a gorgeous purple).

I’ve only inked up J. Herbin Vert Olive so far. It’s very light, but does try a bit darker to make for easier reading. Still conflicted about it – I love the color, but it might need to be in a broader nib for everyday use!  Perhaps the Noodlers Ahab.

image

image

As I started using the pen, the Neon Lime became an increasingly elusive color to nail down. In some lighting it would be a clear green. In other lights it would be hard to tell apart from the Neon Yellow.

image

image

I then staged some comparison shots, comparing the new Lamy Neon Lime to my other Safaris. In this pic from left to right, Yellow (regular production line color), Neon Yellow (2013 LE), Neon Lime (2015 LE), Lime (2008 LE), and Apple Green (2012 LE).

image

image

image

I even took a pic in full sunlight, which made it even harder to tell the Neon Lime (middle right) from the Neon Yellow (middle left).

image

Final thoughts? I like it, I’m glad I added it to the collection. But the 2015 LE Neon Lime isn’t an immediate favorite, like the 2015 LE Copper Orange Al-Star is, or the 2014 LE Neon Coral immediately became. It probably won’t see frequent rotation, as with the Neon Yellow, but I’ll pull it out occasionally and enjoy the pop of Neon happiness it provides.

image

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

