IT’S HERE!!! The 2015 Lamy Al-Star Copper Orange.

And it is GORGEOUS!!! I pre-ordered it from The Writing Desk UK, who I’ve purchased limited edition Lamys from in the past when I was too impatient for them to get released in the US. They have affordable prices and reasonably quick shipping to the US. And I just received this new Precioussss in my mailbox last night!!! Read on for some pics of this luscious pen in it’s full glorious coppery glory!

First of all, the pen came well packaged from The Writing Desk. Surprisingly, the pen came double boxed. Usually, Lamy pens have come to me two ways: 1) in the “slotted” gray cardboard box, with the pen clipped to a cardboard sleeve inside, or (which I’ve seen much less often) 2) in a plastic/vinyl pouch. This time, the pen came in a slim gray box packaged inside the normal gray slotted box, as shown below.

image

And then the color pops out and embraces your eyeballs! What a beautiful glowing shiny copper color.

image

The feed is the standard Al-Star smoky feed (compared against the 2009 LE Lamy Safari Orange just for the heck of it):

image

The nib is the trusty Lamy workhorse Fine, if you’ve used Lamys before you know while EF nibs can be tricky, the F nibs are almost universally good smooth writers.

Along with the new 2015 Copper Orange Al-Star, Lamy also released a new limited edition Copper Orange ink in both bottled and cartridge forms. The Writing Desk didn’t have them available when I pre-ordered my pen, so I’ll just pick it up later when it’s more available here in the U. S. In the meantime, I popped a Lamy Violet cartridge in to test it out. It’s a fun contrast to the orange!

image

Next, because comparisons are always useful! The new 2015 Al-Star vs the 2014 Lamy Safari Neon Coral and 2009 Orange limited editions. First, the yummy yummy color – just looking at this makes me incredibly happy:

image

And full-length side by side view:

image

The caps:

image

The bottoms:

image

Conclusions: I adore this new pen. The shiny metal aluminum finish really adds a special warm glow to this copper color that instantly made it a new favorite.

If you’ve used Lamy Al-Star fountain pens before, it’s exactly as you’d expect in terms of performance and reliability. Yes, these Al-Stars are a little more prone to scratches in the aluminum finish as compared to the ultra-durable Safari plastic. But I’m used to that, some scratches from everyday use – at least in my case – are inevitable really. If I was worried I’d put it in a roll up case that protects each pen individually, but that probably won’t happen. My pens are well-loved and well-used.

Regardless, if you’ve been on the fence about this pen, go get it as soon as it comes available – you won’t regret it!! It will be in high demand once discontinued, just like the Orange Safari is now.

Now for more pics, but this time with GLITTER.

image

image

Tagged: , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “IT’S HERE!!! The 2015 Lamy Al-Star Copper Orange.

  1. 228 May 9, 2015 at 5:40 am Reply

    I have been reading a few of your blog posts and I found this. I have one too and mine comes with medium nib. I haven’t try them and they still sits in the box yet. Although, I must say that I am pretty excited to get them inked up and start writing with them! =D

    I noticed that you have plenty of fountain pens too. Mind share how do you usually take care of them and do the pen maintainance? Like how do you clean them after using it and etc?

    I am still new to fountain pens and still learning about them. =)

    Look forward to hear from you soon.

    Thanks! =)

    • pensandart May 29, 2015 at 3:36 am Reply

      Hi 228! I’m sorry, life kind of got in the way and I couldn’t respond to this sooner. For basic Lamy fountain pen maintenance, I flush them with cold water in between every filling. So this means taking the pen grip section, and running it under a stream of cool water (never warm) to flush out all the ink until the water drips all clear from the nib. I do the same with the converter, flushing it out several times until it comes clear. You can also use a syringe to help flush water out of converters and caps and stuff to rinse them. Then the hard part – waiting for them to dry before refilling!! If you have some ink that is particularly resistant, let them soak in cool water with a tiny drop of soap overnight to loosen up the ink, the flush them with running water the next day. This cleaning style has been working pretty well for me the past 7 years I’ve had Lamys. Good luck!

      • 228 June 7, 2015 at 5:14 pm

        I see. Thanks for the suggestion.

        Do you recommend to take out the nib and clean them separately? I saw some of the tutorial actually encourages users to take out the nib when cleaning so that the feed and nib can be cleaned more thoroughly.

        What’s your thought on this? =)

      • pensandart June 10, 2015 at 3:12 am

        Hi again 228! I don’t always take off the nib when cleaning, only when I’m swapping out to a different nib. And it depends on the pen too – Lamys and Pilots are easy to remove the nibs, other pen brands can be a lot harder and I never mess with removing those. Usually my normal rinsing routine will flush out all but the most stubborn of inks from behind the nib. 🙂

      • 228 June 22, 2015 at 3:19 pm

        I see. I have been wondering about it for some time whenever I want to clean up my pen. Guess I will just avoid removing the nib too frequently. =)

        Thanks for the sharing. Cheers! =)

Leave a Reply

