Review: Levenger Circa Smooth Sliver Notebook with Pockets

Awhile ago I posted about the Junior-Size Levenger Circa Smooth Sliver notebook I bought from eBay and how much I enjoyed it. I liked it so much in fact, when Levenger had a sale recently I had to grab a letter-size notebook for my work planner. The letter-size version of the Levenger Circa Sliver Cover with Pockets is just as great as its smaller version, and now I have a matching pair! Here are the unboxing pics!
First of all, I was surprised to see that Levenger wasn’t shipping the notebook in their usual boxes with cloth covers anymore. All the other notebooks I’ve bought from them have come packaged that way, but instead, it was shipped in a plastic shrinkwrapped bag. Once unwrapped, I was able to see this luscious Cocoa colored notebook.

The Levenger Circa Sliver Notebook with Pockets in Cocoa
The back cover:

The Levenger Circa Sliver Notebook with Pockets in Cocoa
The most important benefit this notebook cover offers is how incredibly thin and light it is! It takes up virtually no room on the discs compared to other covers..

wpid-2015-02-11-15.23.11.jpg.jpeg

wpid-20150211_085943.jpg

wpid-20150211_085950.jpg

I was also really impressed to see a new informational sheet on the inside of the notebook – titled “Levenger Tips for Effective Note-taking”. Yes, it’s a lot of tips I’ve heard before, but I still thought it was kind of cool to see the handwriting and tips.

image

Levenger also includes tip sheets on how to remove covers and pages safely too. The company does a great job at educating its customers on the Circa system and how to use it effectively.

image

The notebook came with Levenger’s standard annotation ruled refills. While in the past I’ve not been overly impressed with the paper quality of their standard refills, there is no feathering or bleedthrough on these pages that I’ve seen.

wpid-2015-02-11-21.13.43.jpg.jpeg

The back of my sample page:

wpid-2015-02-11-21.14.21.jpg.jpeg

All in all, I strongly believe the notebook would be improved with a pen loop, and in a perfect world, an elastic strap closure. But its the closest cover I’ve found yet to the clear plastic covers I love. I can easily fold it over on itself (my major requirement), it doesn’t take any room whatsoever on the discs (my second requirement) and it comes in more than boring black! I was actually really torn between getting the letter size in Cocoa to match the Junior, or the Navy Blue. I literally put each in and out of my shopping cart several times before finally deciding on the Cocoa. It seemed the most business-friendly, would go with most of my aluminum disc colors, and is a nice rich brown. I definitely recommend

Shown here in Letter-size with my “plum” aluminum discs, and in Junior-size with “caribbean” aluminum discs. And my Rebecca Moss fountain pen.

wpid-20150211_170624-1.jpg

The Levenger Circa Sliver Notebook with Pockets (in Cocoa)

*Edited to add: I do not work for Levenger, just like their products. I do not get items free to review. Everything on my blog I’ve purchased myself, much to my wallet’s despair.*

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Review: Levenger Circa Smooth Sliver Notebook with Pockets

  1. Beka February 12, 2015 at 10:10 pm Reply

    I’m glad to hear you reference the clear plastic covers. I absolutely love how light and thin they are and with a customized pretty cover sheet it can be very versatile. But I was really wondering about these covers. I agree pen loops would be great. I used the sticky type before and enjoyed it but worry about tiring of it or damaging the covers.

    • pensandart February 12, 2015 at 10:23 pm Reply

      Exactly Beka! That’s why I’d try pretty covers but always, inevitably, go back to plastic. Especially because of the customization factor!! Not many discbound notebook people are clear plastic cover fans I’ve found. 🙂 But honestly, I really love these Sliver covers for exactly that reason – they’re so thin and light, but still look really professional, perfect for work. Levenger just needs to add pen loops, elastic, and some fun bright colors and they’d be perfect! I’m like you, I have an adhesive pen loop and am so tempted to use it, but it doesn’t match and is so permanent…. I’m afraid! Sigh. 😀

  2. […] of all, for the past couple of months I’ve been in love with my Circa Smooth Sliver Cover. It’s professional looking, sleek and slim, and has pockets and a pen loop (which = awesome). […]

  3. […] I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I love the thin and light style of the Levenger Circa Sliver notebooks. They provide a sleek […]

Leave a Reply

