Conway Stewart and J. Herbin Stormy Grey

Awhile back I received a sample of the much-talked about J. Herbin Stormy Grey ink from an Instagram friend, and was SUPER excited. But once I loaded it up into a couple of different fountain pens, I wasn’t able to see the legendary gold flakes. It was so disappointing, but I came to the conclusion I didn’t have a nib broad enough to really take advantage of the ink.

So I put it aside until I was ready to try another pen.

And then recently met up with close friends for dinner and geeked out about some pen stuff, and my friend offered to lend me her vintage flex fountain pen to play with a bit. She had bought it off of ebay awhile ago, and it wasn’t in stellar condition, but worked if I wanted to try it out. And I was like, HELLS YES. My friend couldn’t remember the type or name, but after some Googling it looks like it might be a Conway Stewart 75.

First I inked it up with Diamine Ancient Copper – not having ever used a vintage pen before, THAT was an experience! Trying to pull out that little lever, and fill up from a bottle … vintage pens are complicated!

wpid-20150112_164815-1.jpg

Vintage Conway Stewart Flex Fountain Pen

Initially I thought the pen was kind of an ugly brown…. but it kinda grows on you. The Diamine Ancient Copper leaves some ink crud around the nib though, so I cleaned it out (another interesting experience!) and tried the infamous J. Herbin Stormy Grey sample.

AND OMG I SEE THE GOLD FLAKES NOW! Shown below on some Tomoe River Paper samples an awesome pen friend sent my way.

wpid-2015-01-16-20.40.47.jpg.jpeg     wpid-2015-01-16-20.40.07.jpg.jpeg

THE GOLD, THE GOLD O_O

wpid-2015-01-16-20.42.03.jpg.jpeg

J. Herbin Stormy Grey in Vintage Conway Stewart Flex Fountain Pen

wpid-2015-01-16-20.42.59.jpg.jpeg

J. Herbin Stormy Grey in Vintage Conway Stewart Flex Fountain Pen

I am in major love with this ink!

wpid-2015-01-16-20.44.00.jpg.jpeg

J. Herbin Stormy Grey in Vintage Conway Stewart Flex Fountain Pen

Then of course, had to pose the pen with some new desk accessories I got at Michaels today.

wpid-20150116_164224-1.jpg

Levenger Circa Junior Notebook and Vintage Conway Stewart Flex Fountain Pen

wpid-20150116_164349.jpg

Vintage Conway Stewart Flex Fountain Pen and a fake mini typewriter

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Conway Stewart and J. Herbin Stormy Grey

  1. bureaumishka January 18, 2015 at 1:34 pm Reply

    Great pictures of gold sheen! Love it 🙂

  2. Catherine Jue January 28, 2015 at 4:57 am Reply

    Wow that gold sheen is amazing!! Sadly I only have xf and fine nibs, so I think I’d have the same (initial) reaction as you did with this ink…

Leave a Reply

