Dollar Tree Chopping Mats as Discbound Covers

In my explorations online, I’d heard that Dollar Tree cutting mats, sold in sets of 2 per package, could easily be cut down into discbound notebook covers. So once day I made a trip specifically to Dollar Tree to grab some, and recently had the chance to try it out. Here’s how the process went!

First of all, I had to find a good template. I used the clear covers from an Office Depot Foray Revolution notebook to trace my pattern onto the cutting mats. I was able to get both front and back pieces on one cutting mat, still leaving one leftover for future use. I penciled around the Foray cover, and cut them with a paper cutter, rounding the edges with a scrapbooking corner rounder I had.


image

Once the pieces were ready, I matched up the new covers to the pre-punched Foray cover, and removed a punch head from the Levenger Circa punch for spacing reasons (easily done by unscrewing and sliding forward).

image

A work-in-progress scene.

image

Of that one cutting mat, I had enough plastic for front and back pieces AND two pagefinders.

image

The covers on an actual dashboard.

image

One of the custom cut pagefinders I used to hold sticky flags.

image

Another view of the pagefinder.

image

Final results are, I really like them as covers, but the plastic is very thin and somewhat flimsy/floppy. On a notebook without any tab dividers or other support, it can be little TOO thin compared to normal Staples Arc poly plastic covers.

(Planner shown in the pics above is the Pretty Pretty Planner.)

Tagged: , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Dollar Tree Chopping Mats as Discbound Covers

  1. redharparts January 12, 2015 at 9:37 am Reply

    I just read about these chopping mats as covers on the Arc Junkies FB page. Great idea! There is a Dollar Store where I do my Monday errands, so I’ll stop tomorrow!

    • redharparts January 12, 2015 at 9:38 am Reply

      Another thought…. I’ve been working on a way to store my filled journals and sketchbooks without buying another cover. If these prove too thin for daily use, they might make a good storage cover.

      • pensandart January 12, 2015 at 11:04 pm

        That’s exactly what I was thinking! I plopped it on my watercolor sketchbook and it’s working perfectly there. 🙂

    • pensandart January 12, 2015 at 11:04 pm Reply

      Let me know how it works out for you!

  2. […] did have some extra plastic cutting mats thought, the result of my plastic Circa planner cover experiments. Most of my sketchbooks are 8.5″ x 5.5″, so I cut a sheet into a 8.25″ x […]

Leave a Reply

