New Sketchbook Happiness!

I LOVE Stillman & Birn sketchbooks! So was very surprised and pleased to receive a Gamma series hardbound sketchbook from a relative who didn’t know they were my absolute favorite. My only other experience has been with the Zeta 7×7 series so far, so I’m really looking forward to comparing the different paper types in each.

I am forcing myself to wait until I finish at least my Zeta series sketchbook and my Moleskine Watercolor sketchbook (both about half-way through) – and maybe my own discbound sketchbook – before starting this one, but was so excited to get this I immediately opened it.

wpid-20141228_153915-1.jpg

The Stillman & Birn Gamma Series sketchbook.

Now, I have this thing where I NEVER put anything on the very first page of a new notebook or sketchbook, and must always make a page or two of pen scribbles on the backmost pages instead. I followed tradition and made a few tentative fountain pen marks, but then decided ‘eh, why not!’ and decided to go whole hog on the very front page. If I don’t get to it for another year or more, at least I’ll have commemorated receiving the sketchbook!

I used my Stabilo 68 mini markers and beloved Pentel Waterbrush, and am impressed with how well the paper stood up to the wash. You can barely tell on the other side.

wpid-2014-12-28-14.58.36.jpg.jpeg

My new Stillman & Birn Gamma series sketchbook handles the waterbrush well!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

