Stabilos – the best pen you’ve never heard of.

Looking at my glorious stash of pens on my desk today, and am still surprised these Stabilo pens don’t get more recognition! They are so underrated here in the US it seems.
Anyways, I couldn’t resist pairing the same colors of the cute little Stabilo 68 minis (on the left, different colored bodies) to the normal size Stabilo 88 pens (on the right, all in yellow bodies). Such delicious color!!

Edited to add:
I wanted to comment on availability here in the US. Whereas Staedtler seems to have reasonable representation across stores like Target, Michaels, Staples, Office Depot /Max, I can’t say the same about Stabilo. I’ve only ever seen them in local specialty art stores. Perhaps because Stabilo is a UK-based company? Either way, it’s very surprising. I’ve had to turn to favorite online sources like JetPens, Dick Blick, and Amazon. Amazon in particular has the full set of 25 Stabilo 88 pens right now for only $15, a fantastic deal. I am on my phone now but will add a link later.

image

image

image

Tagged: , ,

7 thoughts on “Stabilos – the best pen you’ve never heard of.

  1. aletifer October 3, 2014 at 4:14 am Reply

    Maybe under-rated because supply is scarce? They look great, but sad to say I’ve not heard of them!

    • pensandart October 3, 2014 at 2:56 pm Reply

      I agree, there doesn’t seem to be any availability in US stores aside from specialty art suppliers. At least from what I’ve seen.

  2. kimmi October 3, 2014 at 7:29 am Reply

    I use these pens and have found them to be super, especially for the smaller parts of my drawings, and also fairly cheap here in the UK.

  3. Elizabeth October 3, 2014 at 8:54 am Reply

    You are right, I’ve never heard of them. Next time I’ll go shopping I’ll see if I find them and give a try.

    • pensandart October 3, 2014 at 2:54 pm Reply

      Definitely give them a shot! Don’t know if you’re in the US, but I’ve not had a lot of luck finding these in office supply stores – only art stores. And of course, online. Good luck!

  4. rbdgt January 14, 2015 at 9:30 am Reply

    I have tested both these pens and have found that the Staedtler colors fade really fast when exposed to sunlight. The Stabilo’s don’t have this problem…

    • pensandart January 14, 2015 at 1:27 pm Reply

      That’s a great point. For my purposes, I use them primarily for work on notes or in casual sketchbooks, so fading isn’t a concern for me. But I can see how that would be an important consideration for others. 🙂

Leave a Reply

