Global Art Pencil Case

So, I was wondering through a local art store one day, idly wondering if I could teach myself how to become the next Picaso with some Prismacolor Premiere Markers, and then decided that becoming Marker Picaso sounded like a lot of work. So I had moved on to the pencils section, and saw these awesome little zippered Global Arts portfolio pencil cases. I instantly fell in love with the size and stonewashed-esque color options (red, denim, stone, black). The 48-pencil case was $18, so I was like, SOLD. I debated between the 24-pencil case and the 48, which opened like a double book case. Ultimately I was like, BIGGER IS BETTER, and chose the 48-ct case in denim. Yay for instant gratification impulse buys!!! Of course, I later found out it was barely $13 at Dick Blick, but such is life!

I originally thought the case would be perfect for my Derwent Inktense Watercolor Pencils, but I discovered I had too many for that. Luckily, I found out it was the perfect size for holding my Staedtler Triplus Fineliners and Stabilo 88 pens, which I was so in love with I had developed this weird compulsion to take them back and forth to work with me every day (I KNOW, I have a problem).

Here are some action shots:

The case is just about the same size as the larger Arts & Sciences Field Notes notebooks.

wpid-20140810_100012.jpg

The Global Arts case opened, with Staedtler Triplus Fineliners and a Field Notes notebook.

I keep the Staedtler Triplus Fineliners in one zippered side, where I can fit three of the fatter Staedtler pens into each of the three sections per side, to hold a total of 18. In the other zippered section, I squish four narrow Stabilo 88‘s into each section. It can be a tight fit, but it works, and I can hold a full 24 Stabilo pens in this section.

wpid-20140810_100145.jpg

Stabilo 88’s go in the other zippered section.

Below is the side of the case, shown with a Field Notes notebook for size comparisons.

wpid-20140810_101028.jpg

The spine has little snaps to hold the zippers down, a nice touch.

Here is the other zippered side:

wpid-20140810_101059.jpg

I like the black zippered look here.

Some older shots from prior Instagram posts:

I tried seeing how many fountain pens it could hold – since I mostly have Lamy Safaris, I could only get one per elastic section. My medium-width drawing pens I could fit two or three per section, as seen here.

Shown with my fat Lamy Safari.

The only downside I noticed with using the Lamy’s is that when you have some on each side, it makes zipping that section just a big more snug. I had to turn the the clips to the side to make closing it easier. I didn’t have this issue with other smaller fountain pens as much.

Packed full!

Just chilling out on my desk at work.

First pic!

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Global Art Pencil Case

  1. tunde September 11, 2014 at 8:02 pm Reply

    where can i buy it in canada?

    • pensandart September 12, 2014 at 1:59 am Reply

      I’m not sure. If the link I provided to the Global Art company doesn’t have any direct Canadian dealers, you might just have to get it from an online store.

Leave a Reply

